We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Small-Group Deluxe Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Highlights
  • Ideal for travelers looking for an adventure with a bit of comfort
  • Hunt for the northern lights in the comfort of a minibus 
  • Enjoy included hot chocolate, blankets, and Icelandic pastries 
More
Small-Group Deluxe Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik
From US$98.32
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
Date
Travellers
Tour options (1)
Small-Group Deluxe Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik
From US$98.32
Low Price Guarantee
Overview
Ideal for travelers looking to spot the northern lights while traveling in comfort, this minivan tour takes you out of Reykjavik’s light pollution in search of the best places to witness the radiant spectacle. Along the way, get treated to a warm blanket, hot chocolate, and Icelandic pastries. Best of all, if you don’t spot the lights on your particular evening, you can book for another night free of charge.
What to Expect
Begin your tour by meeting your driver and guide at the city-designated pickup spot. Settle into your climate-controlled minivan and head out as far from Reykjavik as possible.

Your guide looks for clear skies and takes you to the best places to spot the northern lights. En route, listen to Icelandic folktales and learn about how the lights form when solar particles collide with Earth’s atmosphere.

Drive through the dark countryside, stopping to stretch your legs and enjoy the view. With luck, observe the lights, and take photos with a supplied tripod if you’d like. Stay warm with a hot chocolate and Icelandic pastries. If you don’t spot anything, you can book the next trip for free.

Afterward, make the return journey to Reykjavik for a drop-off near your hotel.
Reviews (62)
1 - 5 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago
All Hail the Peace Thief

We went on this tour on the 7th January and we were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights! A special thank you to Friðþjófur, our expert guide, for making it so special. He absolutely made the trip and was a positive beacon in the...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank PaulGConstable
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
This Tour Will Not Disappoint!

This was our second Northern Lights Tour during our visit and definitely the better of the two. This tour doesn’t just take you to one spot to see the lights; the guides are in communication from different areas so if there is a chance of...More

2  Thank Pootle78
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Magical Tour - A Must!

My husband and I went on this same tour a couple of years ago, and loved it so much that we knew we had to take our friends on it on a return visit to Iceland. I can't recommend Sterna Travel enough - easy booking,...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank glitterbat
Connector818278, Director of Sales at Sterna Travel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you glitterbat for booking with us and taking time to write about our experience. Glad you were able to find Northern lights on your tour :)

Reviewed 3 December 2018
Beautiful night with Northern Lights

Our first night in Iceland, we embarked on this tour. Our guide, whose name now escapes me, was great. He was funny and knowledgeable about the northern lights and the science behind them. He took us out to the national park, away from where the...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Katherine G
Reviewed 21 November 2018
Great entertainment

Great communication from start until finish. Pick up and drop off very easy. Well informed guide Fred did his best to go hunting but unfortunately we did not see the lights but was able to reschedule again very easily. Small mini bus with personal touch.

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank theresad414
Connector818278, Director of Sales at Sterna Travel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Thank you Theresa A for booking with us and taking the time to share your experience. Glad you had a good time with our Fred (Friðþjófur) - but I am sorry that we couldn't find the unpredictable Northern lights on your first night.

View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
bubblessi06
15 January 2019|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Pootle78 | Reviewed this property |
Hi, I think the groups were 12-15 people but it depends on the bookings, I guess it could be less. I didn’t have my own camera but had an app for my iPhone (NorthernLights) which allows you to take pictures - this is still... More
1
Vote
Catherine G
7 January 2019|
Answer
Response from Pootle78 | Reviewed this property |
I think if they cancel due to weather and you can’t rebook, you can request a refund - I’m not sure what would happen if you don’t see the lights and it’s your last night. You could check the travel company website for... More
0
Votes
Dominic H
26 October 2018|
Answer
Response from Pootle78 | Reviewed this property |
Hi Dominic, sorry I don’t work for the travel company. You can check Sterna Travel’s website for details of cancellations etc.
0
Votes