We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik by Bus

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$43.81
Date
2 travellers
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Dress warmly and begin your evening tour with pickup from your Reykjavik hotel. Hop inside your comfortable coach and leave the city for Iceland’s dark countryside.

    On route, listen as your guide shares background on the Northern Lights, otherwise called the Aurora Borealis. Learn how they appear when charged solar particles collide with the Earth’s atmosphere, and hear the legends associated with the spectacular natural phenomenon.

    As you travel, your guide will watch for any sign of the lights, and for the clear skies needed for sightings. It’s also important to be away from artificial lights, so your journey will take you far from Reykjavik, and towns and villages.

    Keep a lookout from your coach, and stop at viewpoints to see or look for the luminous ribbons. Step outside for the best views, and with luck, enjoy a sighting or two. Capture the lights on camera, and keep warm with delicious 'kleina' and cocoa.

    The exact tour duration depends on when and if the lights appear, and how long it takes to find clear skies. Then return to Reykjavik where your hunt ends with a drop-off close to your hotel.

    Please note: sightings of the Northern Lights are not guaranteed on this tour. If the lights are not seen, you will be given the option of joining the tour on another date, free of charge.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Your Hotel or Guesthouse in Reykjavik (no pickup from private apartments or AirBnb) 
    Note! 
    • City regulations do not allow us to pick up directly from hotels downtown. You will be asked to go to the nearest Pick-up place from ones listed here: www.busstop.is
    • Should your pickup location be at a Bus Stop and you need assistance finding it, seek guidance in your Hotel's reception or contact your tour provider directly.
    Departure Time
    8:30 PM
    Duration
    4h
    Return Details
    We offer drop-off at the original departure point.
    Inclusions
    • Pickup and drop-off for selected hotels and guesthouses in Reykjavik.
    • Professional guidance in English.
    • Hot chocolate.
    Exclusions
    • There is no toilet on the bus and there might not be a toilet available during the tour.
    • Food.
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Dress extremely well, preferably in layers. Bring a hat, gloves and wear thick socks.
    • The Northern Lights are a natural phenomenon. Sightings can not be guaranteed even if the tour is operated.
    • We decide after 17:00 every day if conditions are favourable to operate the tour and post on our Facebook page and send an email to all major tour desk and hotel receptions if we are not going ahead with the tour.
    • If no Northern Lights are seen, we offer passengers to take the trip again for free. If no Northern Lights are seen, we offer passengers to take the trip again for free. If no northern lights are seen for the second or third time we offer passengers a voucher for a free trip that is valid for three years.
    • If you book a Northern Lights tour, but conditions do not allow us to run the tour during your stay, we refund the ticket in full.
    • Please note that if the tour is cancelled or if you don't see any lights you must reschedule your tour by contacting the local operator directly - tours are not rescheduled automatically
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    Reviews (78)
    Filter reviews
    57 results
    Traveller rating
    31
    16
    5
    2
    3
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageEnglish
    More languages
    Traveller rating
    31
    16
    5
    2
    3
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviews sterna travel both nights hot chocolate northern lights cold night camera settings cloud cover served hot the bus poor visibility doughnuts dancing lights large bus knew exactly where aurora borealis bigger bus recommend this trip
    Selected filters
    FilterEnglish
    Updating list...
    1 - 5 of 57 reviews
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    The tour guide was excellent and we were lucky enough to se the northern lights in spectacular fashion. The only downside was the freezing night and the lukewarm hot chocolate. Other than that, great night.

    Date of experience: October 2019
    Thank M H
    Reviewed 1 week ago

    We had poor weather and aurora forecast on our first night, though Sterna decided to go out anyway. The weather cleared for a while while out there, and one area of aurora was barely visible, so technically we did see it. Regardless, Sterna did not...More

    Date of experience: September 2019
    Thank JimAngieJames
    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Without any doubts, one of the best experience in our stay in Iceland. Even if we were at the beginning of the Northern lights season., Sterna Travel provided us an excellent "hunting" trip to the northern lights. Our guide, Fridthjofur (the "peace thief") Johnson, explain...More

    Date of experience: September 2019
    Thank Luis A
    Reviewed 1 July 2019 via mobile

    We booked this trip last minute. The guide and chauffeur werd super Nice! On our way to the location the guide gave us instuctions how to use our camera's for the best pictures. The Lights were really hard to find with some patience and hot...More

    Date of experience: April 2019
    Thank Itsanoukhere
    Connector818278, Public Relations Manager at Sterna Travel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2019

    Thank you Itsanou for taking your time to share with us your experience. We are happy that you had some luck with lights, even if they weren't that strong. I can only agree that it is always a very special experience!

    Reviewed 3 May 2019

    The disappointing bit is not (only) that we didn't see the Northern Lights (can't blame the company for this) but the fact that we absolutely didn't get anything at all for our money. They took us on a spot that was probably just about 20...More

    Date of experience: March 2019
    Thank Cle011
    sternatravel, Public Relations Manager at Sterna Travel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2019

    Thank you Cle011 for spending time to share your experience. We are sad to hear that you didn't have luck with the lights. I am sorry to hear that you weren't happy about our Northern Lights policy. I wish you only amazing Northern Lights in...More

    View more reviews
    Questions & Answers
    Ask a question
    Tourist740137
    21 July 2019|
    AnswerShow all 2 answers
    Response from Tay2373 | Reviewed this property |
    too early mate, well the agencies and tours companies will always says you have chances but the chance is too slim or none, but still to me Iceland is more than just northern light
    0
    Votes
    Key Details
    • Sterna Travel Iceland
    • Duration: 4h
    • Mobile Ticket Accepted
    • Instant confirmation
    • Hotel Pickup
    • Languages Offered: English
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +852 30184991
    Travellers Also Viewed
    Special Offer
    Northern Lights Bus Tour from...
    67 Reviews
    from US$42.57*
    US$49.50
    Northern Lights Private Tour
    1 Review
    from US$91.44*
    Classic Northern Lights Tour from...
    53 Reviews
    from US$37.07*
    Northern Lights
    1 Review
    from US$89.86*
    Frequently bought together
    Golden Circle Classic Day Trip from...
    2,413 Reviews
    from US$58.41*
    Golden Circle, Kerid Volcanic Crater...
    538 Reviews
    from US$134.00*
    Special Offer
    Small-Group Golden Circle Tour and...
    909 Reviews
    from US$97.06*
    US$107.85
    Special Offer
    Grand Golden Circle Day Trip from...
    532 Reviews
    from US$46.66*
    US$54.90