We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik

Highlights
  • Maximize your chances of seeing the northern lights on this evening tour
  • Your guide takes you to the best places to spot the elusive phenomenon 
  • Hassle-free round-trip transportation from your central Reykjavik hotel
More
Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik
From US$45.00
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
21:00 Northern Lights tourMost Popular
21:00 Northern Lights tour
From US$45.00
22:00 Northern Lights tour
22:00 Northern Lights tour
From US$45.00
19:30 Northern Lights tour
19:30 Northern Lights tour
From US$45.00
Overview
Many travelers want to see the northern lights in Iceland, but without a guide, it can be hard to know where to spot them. On this evening tour from Reykjavik, your driver and guide will take you to the best spots to view the northern lights. If you don’t spot them, rebook the tour for another night free of charge. Hotel pickup and drop-off ensures a seamless experience.
What to Expect
Start your evening northern lights adventure with a pickup from your central Reykjavik hotel. Drive out of the city, heading toward clearer skies and some of the best spots from which to see the northern lights.
Your guide explains why the aurora occurs, and the science behind the variations in its brightness and color. Head to locations where you are most likely to spot the lights based on the weather and “Aurora forecast.”
Follow the lights, admire them, and take pictures if you’ve brought a camera. If you don‘t see any, book the tour again free of charge on another night
Journey back to Reykjavik, where the tour ends with a drop-off at your hotel.
Reviews (202)
1 - 5 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago
badly organized

Pick up from the hotel was scheduled at 20:30. The bus came at 21:00 but had not enough seats because people were taken along who had no reservation at all. The next bus arrived at 21:15 and took us to the bus station. At 21:45...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank songofice
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear traveler Thank you for sharing your Northern Lights experience with us and our sincere apologies for the delay in the beginning of the tour. Fortunately you caught a glimpse, not everyone is so lucky. Hopefully you had an overall enjoyable stay in Iceland. All...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Waste of money

When we boarded the coach everything was positive. The guide really did his best to get or hopes up and said he had even seen the lights on the way to the pick ups. Half hour into the journey he changed his tune and made...More

5  Thank jakehardcastle93
ReykjavikExcursions, Public Relations Manager at Reykjavik Excursions, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Dear traveler Thank you for your comments about your Northern Lights experience and I am sorry that the tour did not fulfill your expectations. Could you inform me by sending an e-mail to feedback@re.is on which day you were on the tour as well as...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Lucky to see

The week we went was very cloudy so we didn’t pre book the lights however the hotel staff told us that last night was meant to be good to see it, however we had heard of other tour operators cancelling tours due to poor weather....More

2  Thank laurasR8243SL
Reviewed 17 December 2018
Didn't Get to See the Northern Lights

Due to weather conditions, we didn't get to see the Northern Lights the week we were in Iceland. However, the company refunded our money promptly, which was much appreciated.

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Diana B
Reviewed 12 December 2018
Amazing

Book this tour at the very beginning of your stay. We went out on friday but we did not see the lights so we rescheduled and went out on saturday and then we saw it. If you do not see the lights you dont have...More

Date of experience: December 2018
1  Thank Genyoda
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
GlobeTrotting793960
17 October 2018|
Answer
Response from NathalieC616 |
Later time is best as long as the sky is clear, you'll be in for a great show.
0
Votes