We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik

Highlights
  • Aurora hunter-guide takes you to the best location for northern lights viewing
  • Take a free second tour if you don't see the lights
  • Warm up with hot drinks while waiting
More
Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik
From US$47.92
Check Availability
  • Overview
  • What to Expect
  • Important Information
  • Reviews
  • Q&A
Select Date and Travellers
20:30Most Popular
Pickup will start at 20:30
From US$47.92
21:30
Pickup will start at 21:30
From US$47.92
21:30 until Oct 14th
From August 25th to October 14th the tour will start at 21:30
From US$47.92
Overview
The northern lights are famously tricky to see, so increase your chances by booking this tour from Reykjavik led by an experienced aurora hunter. Leave nighttime driving to the experts and travel outside the city, away from light pollution, to a location specially selected for its optimal aurora-viewing qualities. Avoid disappointment with the knowledge that if you don't see the lights, you can join the tour another night for free.
What to Expect
After pickup from your Reykjavik hotel or other designated departure point at the prearranged time, meet your guide and settle into the vehicle for the journey out of the city and into the countryside.

Your exact destination depends upon the conditions and the informed decisions of your aurora hunter-guide, who takes you to where their experience tells them you have the best chance of seeing the lights. Enjoy a warm cup of hot chocolate as you wait for the aurora to make its appearance.

With luck, the lights will soon appear to dance across the sky in colors of green, pink, and violet. Your guide can take souvenir photos for you to capture the moment (additional cost). If, however, the lights do not appear, join the tour again on another night at no additional cost.

Afterward, the tour returns to drop you off at your original departure point.
Reviews (50)
1 - 5 of 36 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago
Northern Lights Bus Tour

My husband and I booked the Northern Lights Bus Tour during our stay in Reykjavik. Unfortunately our tours kept being cancelled due to weather conditions but we had hoped to see the lights and were given a rescheduling option with no extra fees. On our...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank mlwillenburg
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your valuable feedback of our staff and services. We will be sure to pass along your compliments. We look forward to your many returns...More

Reviewed 6 days ago
No Northern Lights but kept us informed

We booked the northern lights tour before we went with Expedia it was cancelled first night because of the weather but we were told early and booked for the next night without charge. Next night cancelled again because of weather but kept well informed so...More

Date of experience: January 2019
Thank Mark B
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your valuable feedback of our staff and services though nature was not on our side to show you the auroras!

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Weekend break

This company is a fantastic tour operator who not only take you to a location where you may be able to see the northern lights but they will not give up and will go to different locations for the best possible opportunity to see them....More

Thank Mark B
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 days ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your valuable feedback of our staff and services.

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Don't do a bus tour to see the lights.

I was very disappointed with this tour until i seen the lights. But even so the guide was not great. He at one point told us he didn't know what the lights were and asked us to use the busses wifi to look it up...More

Date of experience: December 2018
Thank MonkeyBravo
Bustravel-Iceland, Guest Relations Manager at BusTravel Iceland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review and for letting us know your experience. We appreciate your valuable feedback of our staff and services. The tour you went on was operated because the weather forecast and activity of the Northern...More

Reviewed 18 November 2018
No lights, fellow passengers were obnoxious

Unfortunately this was not everything that we had hoped for. For starters, we were on a bus with about 50 other people. Not necessarily a bad thing until we got to the spot the guides chose. First of all, there was light pollution everywhere, including...More

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank alexkww
View more reviews
Questions & Answers
Get quick answers from Northern Lights Bus Tour from Reykjavik staff and past visitors.
Note: your question will be posted publicly on the Questions & Answers page.
Submit
Posting guidelines