Tours and Tickets

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík provided by Elding Whale Watching

Reserve Now & Pay Later

Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík

Save
Share
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this experience is taking.Read more
Select Date and Travellers
From
HK$691.23
Date
2 adults
Options
Reserve Now & Pay Later
Low Price Guarantee
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during this experience
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless payment for gratuities and add-ons
  • Gear/equipment sanitized between use
  • Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Efforts are made to invite passengers to stay 2 meters apart from others whenever possible.
Read more
Updated 21/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Overview
Escape the city lights of Reykjavik and embrace the colorful natural light show over the ocean on this northern lights cruise through Faxaflói Bay. The tour is made fun and comfortable with warm overalls, hot drinks, and education details from your guide. Additionally, the boat provides a panoramic viewing platform you can’t get on land-based tours.
Highlights
  • Search for the northern lights on a night cruise in Faxaflói Bay
  • Learn about the natural phenomenon from your guide and a pre-trip multimedia show
  • Overalls and warm drinks keep you from getting cold
  • If you don’t catch the northern lights you can take another cruise free-of-charge
Important Information
Departure Point
Ægisgarður 5, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland
Duration
2–3 hours
Return Details
Returns to original departure point
Inclusions
  • Excellent guidance
  • Warm floatable overalls
  • Multimedia show
  • Wi-Fi on board
Exclusions
  • Hotel pickup and drop-off
Show More
Additional Info
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Northern lights are a natural phenomenon and very unpredictable, so remember to bring patience and optimism with you.
  • If the northern lights are not seen on your tour you will be given a complimentary ticket, which is valid for two years.
  • Weather is a bit factor for the Northern Lights Cruises and we may have to cancel the tour.
  • We recommend wearing good sturdy footwear and warm clothing including; thermals, hat, scarf and gloves.
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Transportation is wheelchair accessible
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s cancelled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 150 travellers
Cancellation Policy
For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
132Reviews
3Q&A
Traveller rating
  • 95
  • 19
  • 6
  • 2
  • 3
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Popular mentions
Connector48771914181 wrote a review Apr 2020
1 contribution
I appreciate that whether you do or don't actually see the Lights depends upon circumstances that can't be controlled and we were very fortunate. Because the Lights appeared quite late, the boat stayed out longer to enable us to get a good view, which was appreciated. It was a
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
D Skells wrote a review Apr 2020
3 contributions
Very well organised, with great detail & facts behind the Northern Lights. All staff were very welcoming and friendly with plenty of places on the boat to be able to be to enjoy the experience. Upon seeing the lights, we were absolutely amazed by how they was forming and moving,
Read more
Date of experience: February 2020
Helpful
Share
frangipanni48 wrote a review Mar 2020
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom28 contributions15 helpful votes
We were on a cruise ship which was docked in Reykjavík and booked a tour with Elding to see the Northern Lights. The evening was very cold and the skies were almost clear. The boat took us further up the coast where it was darker. We waited and waited but no activity. Just when
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Voyage602947 wrote a review Mar 2020
2 contributions
We visited on 17th March and had a very pleasant boat trip, but didn’t see the lights. As others have said, we were given a voucher for another trip which lasts for 2 years. We booked again for the following evening though, and had an amazing time seeing a beautiful display of
Read more
Date of experience: March 2020
Helpful
Share
Simon A wrote a review Mar 2020
Leeds, United Kingdom151 contributions41 helpful votes
We first went on our tour on Tusday night, but without any success. If you don't see the Lights, you get complimentary tickets for a 2 year period. As most people do, we booked on for the next evening. Unfortunately I mislaid our tickets but the staff at the company couldn't
Read more
Helpful
Share
Response from EldingAdventureAtSea, Manager at Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Dear 732SimonA732, Thank you very much for taking the time to rate and review our tour and services. We're glad you had the opportunity to reschedule your booking so many times - since this is a nature dependent tour we never know what to expect and so it important to leave a few nights open. Happy we were able to provide you with excellent service throughout and that you finally got to see the northern lights! All the best, The Elding team
Read more
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Elding Whale Watching
Fa7-M
00
Great experience
I loved the spirit of whale watching without annoying the whales and I loved the passion of Sabrina in doing her wo
Read more
chriswarthurs
00
Good trip with or without whales
We were very lucky with weather so it would have been good trip even without some sightings. Weather, time of year
Read more
hopefultraveller20
00
Really amazing tour
This tour was well organised and prepared for social distancing measures. The crew cooperated with other tourist bo
Read more
394wila
00
An amazing experience
An amazing experience. A must on any trip to Iceland. Worth every penny and I would happily go again. We saw 8 mink
Read more
120kelseyj
00
Beautiful
This was the perfect start to our time in Reykavik! We were provided with warm body suits, ginger tablets and excel
Read more
Nasia C
00
So cute!!
Our guide give us many useful info about Iceland! At the beginning of our tour we couldn't find the whales,but they
Read more
riccardogT8942LF
00
Great experience
Great experience and friendly crew. Got to see more than a few whales. Also, Reykjavik is gorgeous from the sea
Read more
robbiej951
00
Excellent, thoroughly recommend
The spotter/narrator was so knowledgeable and enthusiastic. The whole crew was friendly and didn't give up when oth
Read more
KalmarMalla
00
Kalmarmalla
We can really recommend Eldings whale safari with rib boat! We had the honor to do the trip with captain Reinar and
Read more
jacekgruca
00
We saw all kinds of whale + a number of other species
The team behind Elding really took care of us in this adventure! It was awesome: we saw all kinds of whale + a numb
Read more
JBejer
00
Excellent boat & very helpful staff
Our trip was cancelled 2/twice due to weather, but the 3rd time it worked out, as it was a quiet morning. We saw se
Read more
Footprints97573
00
absolutely worth it
We went with Elding to see whales - and we definitely weren't disappointed. The crew did well - good spotters, as w
Read more
nina874
00
Very good experience!
Very good experience! We were expecting to see maybe 1 whale if we were lucky but we saw so many! Minke whales, hum
Read more
Improindy
00
Great service
My son and I went on a traditional whale watching trip today. It was a great trip. Sunny weather and plenty of Spa
Read more
akane t
00
Miscommunication
My husband booked the tour with this company but there was nobody at the reception. Later we found out that they re
Read more
Key Details
  • Duration: 2–3 hours
  • Mobile Ticket Accepted
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Instant Confirmation
  • Languages Offered: English
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Reserve Now & Pay Later
  • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
  • Low Price Guarantee
  • No Booking Fees
  • Secure Payments
  • 24/7 SupportCall:+852 30184991

Frequently bought together

Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik
from HK$432.31*
Popular: Booked by 29,119 travellers!
Snaefellsnes Peninsula Classic Day Tour from Reykjavik
from HK$714.27*
Popular: Booked by 2,879 travellers!

Night Tours

Northern Lights Night Tour from Reykjavik
from HK$432.31*
Popular: Booked by 29,119 travellers!
Northern Lights Tour from Reykjavik
from HK$349.59*
Popular: Booked by 6,927 travellers!
Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík
from HK$691.23*
Popular: Booked by 301 travellers!
Frequently Asked Questions about Northern Lights Cruise from Downtown Reykjavík