Tours and Tickets

Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon provided by Portuguese For a Day

Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon

Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon
5
Book in advance
from
HK$614.10
per adult
Reserve now & pay later: Save your spot free of charge with flexible booking.
97% of travellers recommend this experience
This number is based on the percentage of all Tripadvisor reviews for this product that have a bubble rating of 4 or higher
Free cancellation
Not sure? You can cancel this booking up to 24 hours in advance for a full refund.
Tour snapshot
Travel between Sintra's dispersed landmarks with ease on a day trip from Lisbon 
Duration:
8h
Taking Covid-19 safety measures
Hotel pickup offered
Group size:
8
Stroller accessible
Ticket type:
Mobile
About
The fairy tale palaces of Sintra are an absolute must-see when visiting Lisbon. Travel between the dispersed UNESCO World Heritage sites with ease on this day trip, which includes convenient hotel pickup and drop-off, as well as transportation in a coach equipped with Wi-Fi. Stop at Pena National Palace, Quinta da Regaleira, and the historic center of Sintra, none of which are serviced by public transport before heading to Cascais. Plus, a more intimate experience is guaranteed in a small group limited to 8.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Highlights
  • Let a guide bring the history of Pena National Palace to life
  • Enjoy a mixture of guided tours and free time to explore independently 
  • Eliminate the stress of navigation and parking with round-trip travel 
What to expect
Your day trip begins with morning hotel pickup in Lisbon. Board a coach destined for the glorious palaces of Sintra. During the journey, your guide provides an important overview of the area’s history. Other highlights include Pena National Palace, a glorious confection of lemon-yellow domes and pastel-pink towers, and the beautiful Quinta Regaleira estate. The tour continues in the historic center of Sintra. On the return journey to Lisbon, stop at Cabo da Roca and enjoy free time exploring Cascais before being dropped off at your Lisbon hotel.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 8h
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
  • Let a guide bring the history of Pena National Palace to life
  • Enjoy a mixture of guided tours and free time to explore independently 
  • Eliminate the stress of navigation and parking with round-trip travel 
What to expect
Your day trip begins with morning hotel pickup in Lisbon. Board a coach destined for the glorious palaces of Sintra. During the journey, your guide provides an important overview of the area’s history. Other highlights include Pena National Palace, a glorious confection of lemon-yellow domes and pastel-pink towers, and the beautiful Quinta Regaleira estate. The tour continues in the historic center of Sintra. On the return journey to Lisbon, stop at Cabo da Roca and enjoy free time exploring Cascais before being dropped off at your Lisbon hotel.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 33844P1
Important information
Inclusions
  • Hotel or apartment pick up and drop-off (central Lisbon)
  • Informative driver/guide
  • Small group tour
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entrance/admission to Pena Park
  • Entrance/admission to Quinta da Regaleira
  • Entry/Admission - Quinta da Regaleira
Exclusions
  • Lunch
  • Entrance fees to additional attractions
  • Guided visits inside monuments
  • Gratuities
Duration
8h
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • If your pick up location is not on the list, you can meet your guide at Praça da Figueira in front of the statue. Exact pick up times are provided closer to the tour day, and commence prior to departure time.
  • Praça da Figueira, 1100-241 Lisboa, Portugal If your pick up location is not on the list, you can meet your guide at Praça da Figueira in front of the statue. Exact pick up times are provided closer to the tour day, and commence prior to departure time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • An amount of walking is involved
  • Transportation is done in a van up to 8 places
  • All tours require a minimum number of 2 participants
  • Please note pick up at hotel or private short term rental is only from selected hotels.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers
Inclusions
  • Hotel or apartment pick up and drop-off (central Lisbon)
  • Informative driver/guide
  • Small group tour
  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • Entrance/admission to Pena Park
  • Entrance/admission to Quinta da Regaleira
  • Entry/Admission - Quinta da Regaleira
Exclusions
  • Lunch
  • Entrance fees to additional attractions
  • Guided visits inside monuments
  • Gratuities
Departure details
  • Traveller pickup is offered.
  • If your pick up location is not on the list, you can meet your guide at Praça da Figueira in front of the statue. Exact pick up times are provided closer to the tour day, and commence prior to departure time.
  • Praça da Figueira, 1100-241 Lisboa, Portugal If your pick up location is not on the list, you can meet your guide at Praça da Figueira in front of the statue. Exact pick up times are provided closer to the tour day, and commence prior to departure time.
  • Hotel pickup is offered. View the hotel list on our checkout page to see if yours is included among the pickup points.
Duration
8h
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point
Additional information
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Child rate applies only when sharing with 2 paying adults
  • An amount of walking is involved
  • Transportation is done in a van up to 8 places
  • All tours require a minimum number of 2 participants
  • Please note pick up at hotel or private short term rental is only from selected hotels.
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Stroller accessible
  • Infant seats available
  • Most travellers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 8 travellers
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
What you can expect during your visit
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Guides required to regularly wash hands
  • Hand sanitiser available to travellers and staff
  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitised
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
  • Paid stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
  • Gear/equipment sanitised between use
  • Face masks required for travellers in public areas
  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Praça da Figueira
    Or, you can also get picked up
    See Important Information for details
  • 1
    Park and National Palace of Pena
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • 2
    Quinta da Regaleira
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Centro Historico de Sintra
    Stop: 90 minutes
    See details
  • 4
    Cabo da Roca
    Stop: 20 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Guincho Beach
  • 5
    Cascais
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

5.0
332 reviews
Excellent
311
Very good
14
Average
5
Poor
1
Terrible
1

Reunionsmama
US30 contributions
Jun 2022
Wow! What a great tour! We have traveled for 2 weeks through Spain and Portugal, touring almost every day, and this tour was undoubtedly the best. Things we particularly appreciated:
1. The tour guide was absolutely on time for the pickup and managed time very effectively throughout the tour (5 stops)
2. He (Andres) was engaging, positive, and informative.
3. He was very efficient and has honed this tour to a science - hitting each site at the optimum time to minimize wasted time and crowds.
4. Great reccos for lunch restaurants.
5. A comfortable 8 pax van (instead of a tight van or one with poor AC)
6. Flawless English.
I should also add that the Peña palace, Quintera, Sintera, Cascáis, and Cabo are all great stops in and of themselves.

All in all a delightful day.
Written 20 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Scott M
Simcoe, Canada156 contributions
Our guide João picked us up promptly at the designated spot, and along with two other couples provided us with a pleasant drive to Sintra during which he gave a well-informed talk about the history and interesting facts about the area. His English is very good, and he peppered his dialogue with humour to keep it interesting.
Pena Palace and Quinta da Regaleira are worth seeing and at each we were provided enough time to see the highlights, though both are large sites that one could easily spend an entire day at. João provided good restaurant recommendations for a leisurely lunch, followed by a drive out to the westernmost tip of Europe, Cabo da Roca for a quick stop to view the high cliffs and crashing surf.
Overall the tour was very well organized, a much better solution than attempting to drive this area on our own, and good value for money. João was an excellent tour guide. Recommended.
Written 3 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

K D
Georgia204 contributions
Sep 2021
We used Portuguese for a Day twice during our trip to Lisbon in late September 2021. We went on the Sintra and Cascais tour with Andre. There were a total of 7 people in our group. Pick up was easy- just a block from our Airbnb. We had a great day seeing the sights and learning about Portuguese history and culture. I highly recommend the tour.

The next day, we had a private trip to Nazare with Filipa. She was fun to travel with and very knowledgeable about the coastal area, the waves and surfing in Nazare. We went to Sitio on the cliffs above the beach and visited the small surfing museum there. While it was not the season for the giant waves, Filipa has seen them many times and told us all about watching the world class surfers test their surfing skill with 100 foot waves. We had lunch at a beachside restaurant in Nazare and visited the local market. It was delightful to spend the day with Filipa.
Written 5 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortugueseForADay
Thank you very much for your detailed review of the two tours you did with us. We're so happy you joined us. We look forward to show you other places on your next visit to Portugal. Muito obrigado!!
Written 11 October 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

MurphyMcAnulty
London, UK4 contributions
We recently did the small group tour to Sintra from Lisbon with the expectation of visiting Pena Palace. We were only told at 1am the night before that the road to the palace is closed to cars, but the email said that we could either walk there or adjust the itinerary to visit other sites.

When Valter picked us up in the morning he told us the the road has been closed for over a month and didn’t give us any options to visit. I even asked him if we could still somehow see the palace but he avoided the question and instead took us to 2 other sites in Sintra, a beach nearby for lunch, Cabo da Roca and Cascais.

While the day was still enjoyable we were very disappointed that we weren’t even given the option to tour the one site we came to Sintra to see. After some research that evening I discovered that buses and tuk tuks are still going up to the palace so it would have been possible. It was also sneaky of the company to only let us know that the road was closed at 1am the night before when they’ve known this information for a month. Clearly they were worried we would cancel.

Valter mentioned that covid has impacted their company this year, which we are sympathetic to, but covid has affected everyone and this is no excuse to not be upfront with customers.
Written 2 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortugueseForADay
Thank you for taking the time to review your tour with Valter. We apologize for any inconvenience that the road closures might have caused; however, we cannot be held accountable for something we cannot control. We want to clarify that the road has not been closed for a month; your guide explained all of this: we have fire alerts that last the entire summer season, and we act according to the information we receive from the Sintra's City Hall and the Mayor of Sintra. The data is updated daily or every three days. There are two types of fire alerts: one that allows public transportation to pass by and another that effectively closes the road's access. On the day of your tour, the second alert was in place. Only firetrucks, civil protection, and people that live in the mountain could drive up the hill, so the only option was to walk up the mountain, as we informed you in the email and as your guide told you in the day of the tour. We know it is quite a hike, but that would be possible to do, as it was the only way to access the Pena Palace that day. However, when your guide presented you with the option of visiting a different palace instead of the Pena Palace, you accepted. Upon your research, you must also discovered out that, for the past weeks, tuk-tuk drivers have been in protest precisely because they can't access the mountain due to these roadblocks and last-minute warnings. You can access all the information on the Sintra's City Hall web page or their Facebook page. Never have we misled our customers into anything to avoid cancellations, and we are always upfront with our guests. We were not worried that you'd cancel as we abide by our terms and conditions and our customers' well being. We take our values very seriously, and if you do a bit of research on our company, you can see that. This is why we notified you, at 12:55 am outside our business hours, that the roadblock would take place on your tour day. And we did it as soon as we had information from the Mayor. We always do our best to provide our guests with a great experience, and we did so on your tour day. It is unfortunate to read that you still gave us a 2-star review, notwithstanding you had a good day. Best regards, Filipa
Written 3 September 2020
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Ken M
3 contributions
Feb 2022
Loved everything about this tour, my only regret was that I didn't book it earlier in the week and that we didn't book our other tours with this company.

Andre was a fantastic guide, he was able to give us an overview of the history of everywhere we went but we were also given enough time to independently visit the palaces, gardens and small towns included in this tour.

Sintra is a magical place that was made even better for us by the great food recommendations from Andre.

I highly recommend this tour. Do it early in your visit and listen to any recommendations you get, we visited a couple of restaurants in Lisbon based on our guides recommendations and they were fabulous.

The current climate makes it necessary to note that all covid regulations were followed. The vehicle we were in was large, masks were used at all times and hand sanitiser was in evidence in the vehicle and freely available for our use at all times.
Written 14 February 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortugueseForADay
Thank you so much for your honest and detailed review. We are so happy to read you had a good day, and that you enjoyed Andre's recommendations! Thank you, and see you soon.
Written 16 February 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Wojtek655
South Bend, IN8 contributions
Sep 2021
Filipa, our tour guide was awesome. She arrived at our hotel exactly at the scheduled time. At the very beginning of our trip she provided us with a detailed itinerary for the day. We really appreciated the fact that Filipa was so knowledgeable about all places we visited. During the day trip we learned so much about history, geography, climate, economy and the local people. There was never a dull moment during the trip. She allowed enough time for us to see things and explore a bit. We never felt rushed.
Klaudia and Wojciech
Thank you Filipa
Written 13 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortugueseForADay
Thank you very much for your kind and honest review! It was great meeting you both Klaudia and Wojciech. Obrigada!
Written 16 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tobi V
13 contributions
Oct 2021 • Family
Great day trip! We really enjoyed the time spent with the other people in the group and Filipa was a fantastic guide. She was really nice and very knowledgeable about everything we were seeing. It was the right balance of giving interesting background and then letting us go off at our own pace. Also, she speaks English really well, which we found to be a bit of a challenge in some of our other “English speaking” tours. Sintra, Peña Park, and Quinta da Regaleira were amazing. The only suggestion is that the tour didn’t include the ticket to go inside Peña Palace. We would have preferred to have an option to pay for that up front so we didn’t have to spend valuable time buying the tickets when we were there (was only 5-6, but took almost 10 minutes to get). We would definitely book these guys again in the future.
Written 26 October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortugueseForADay
We appreciate so much your detailed review, thank you! We have that option for direct bookings on our website: when purchasing on our website, you can also purchase the tickets for the interior of the Palace. This way you have both tickets for the outside and inside of the Palace ready on the tour day. We hope to meet your beautiful family again soon! Obrigada Tobi.
Written 2 November 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Denise K
Madbury, NH9 contributions
Feb 2020
Overall we enjoyed this tour very much and would strongly recommend it to others. We had good amounts of time to spend at Pena Palace and Quinta de Regaleira, as well as lunch in the center of Sintra. Valter was very knowledgeable and as he had grown up in Sintra, had many unique observations to share. I would have loved a little more time in Cascais, but very glad we were exposed to such a great place.

Travelers should be aware that Valter did not accompany us inside the attractions, he explained the information about each one while we were driving there in the van, and he was very knowledgeable. We saw other tour groups with their tour guides accompanying them through the attractions, but in our case, I much prefer the style that Valter employed, as we were free to explore what interested us on our own pace.

The group was small (8 people) and since we were free to explore on our own, we each went off in different directions, which was great and I consider this a real plus of traveling with Portuguese for a Day.

The only thing that might be improved is we couldn't always hear what he was explaining as we were driving in the van (the only reason for 4 stars instead of 5). Admittedly we are both seniors and a bit hard of hearing, so this won't apply to everyone. But especially when sitting in the back seat it was a little hard. Perhaps a microphone would help this.
Written 22 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Tiffany C
Island of Hawaii, HI1 contribution
Feb 2020 • Friends
Walter (Valter) was punctual and most informative throughout our entire trip. Our only suggestion was to speak a little louder (hard to hear while driving over cobblestone streets). Nonetheless, he was professional and very knowledgeable, giving us history tidbits along the journey to Sintra. The time allowed at each stop was as listed, and we lucked out that our entire group were prompt so we missed no time. Because we were early, we had time to stop below Pena Palace and see a wooded area, a better view of Cascais, and hear more history stories. I would definitely book this company again! Thank you for a memorable day!
Written 26 February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

irishsusan
irishsusan89 contributions
Jan 2020
Our guide, Valter, was very knowledgeable, he was raised in Sintra and lives in Lisbon. He was able to share so much information about the history of Portugal, the culture and customs. The van was very comfortable. Sintra is an interesting city and we enjoyed the castle tours. Our stop in Cascais was a highlight, such a beautiful coastal village. I would highly recommend this tour.
Written 21 January 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 320
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Portuguese For a Day
marafl11
marafl11
00
Incredible day in Sintra
My family of 4 did a day in Sintra with Filipa and it was wonderful. She helped guarantee an excellent experience a
Chovick
Chovick
00
Memorable and Special!
This was our second day with Fillippa and once again it was so informative and so pleasant. Fillippa is a joy to be
Chovick
Chovick
00
Know Lisbon! This is the tour!
Our wonderful guide, Fillippa tailored the day to our limitations as older travelers. We learned so much about the
Terri Ann T
Terri Ann T
00
Absolute must do!
Fantastic private tour of Sinatra and surrounding area. Philippa was excellent, engaging with everyone from age 66-
Steven L
Steven L
00
PORTUGUESE FOR A DAY IS THE BEST
My wife and I are fortunate to be able to travel in Europe and we stay away from long tours, preferring to schedule
LLLLLars
LLLLLars
00
Very nice
We went with our guide to drive to several great locations that are less well known. All the locations were either
U7907BIjeffs
U7907BIjeffs
00
Lisbon City Tour
What a great day with Andre! Very fun to run around with a Lisbon-born and raised local all day long. In addition
FaoiDheireadh
FaoiDheireadh
00
Smart, witty, considerate and flexible. Perfect!
We had a private tour with Filipa that allowed us to see Lisbon as an overview from a local’s perspective and our o
Steve H
Steve H
00
Fantastic Half day tour of Lisbon
We did a half-day, custom tour of Lisbon with Filipa. She was simply fantastic and we had an excellent tour and th
DM347
DM347
00
Best Private Tour from and around Lisbon
Just got back from our visit to Portugal. 5 of us in our party, and friends celebrating a 50th birthday for a long
Resvan
Resvan
00
Would give them 6 stars if I could
We chose this tour organizer because they seemed to be one of the few that took you to both Pena Palace and Quinta
Lynne D
Lynne D
00
Professional Tour Company that adjusted plans due to attraction closed
We booked to see Sintra castle but due to roads being closed unexpectedly, the company called and offered a refund
evyp318
evyp318
00
Great day with Valter..
This is a highly recommended tour for those who love nature like us.. another great experience is the cheese and wi
rvalloyas
rvalloyas
00
Excellent Day Tour with João
This is highly recommended tour to travellers like us, who are not familiar with places like Sinatra and Cacais. Jo
carolfitz2
carolfitz2
00
Sintra, Cascais, and drive through the countryside
Our tour guide JOÃO Da Silva was very knowledgeable, efficient, and friendly. I usually like to explore places on m
Frequently Asked Questions about Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon

Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon will start at 8:15 AM. Discover and book Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon on Tripadvisor


Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon price starts from HK$628.31. Discover and book Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon on Tripadvisor

Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Sintra Small Group Tour from Lisbon on Tripadvisor