Tours and Tickets

Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour provided by Walks of Italy

Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour

Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour
5
Book in advance
from HK$630.08 per adult
Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
Travel safe during COVID-19
Last updated: 14 Jul 2020
A note from Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour
Due to Covid19, until the end of 2020, this tour will be amended to ensure your safety: -Group size and/or tour duration may be reduced. This will be amended as Covid restrictions relax in accordance with local regulations
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
What you can expect during your visit
Face masks required for travellers in public areas
Hand sanitizer available to travellers and staff
Social distancing enforced throughout experience
Face masks provided for travellers
Face masks required for guides in public areas
About
See the Colosseum through the eyes of gladiators on this tour that gives you entry through the Gladiator Gate. Bypassing the long lines that often snake around the ancient stadium, just step inside, straight onto the arena floor. Walk where the gladiatorial games once took place, as you learn the stadium’s history and then visit the ruins of Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum.
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Available languages
English
Know before you go
  • Duration: 2h 30m
  • Mobile tickets accepted
  • Instant confirmation
Available languages
English
Cancellation policy
  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
Highlights
No waiting at the Colosseum with admission through a reserved entranceway
Learn the Colosseum’s history through your guide’s commentary
Catch all of your guide’s stories with the help of provided headphones
Skip the line at the Roman Forum and Palatine Hill to spend more time inside
What to expect
With your skip-the-line ticket in hand, follow your guide inside the Colosseum via a special side gate that opens onto the arena floor. Stepping straight into the footsteps of the gladiators, walk around the arena floor itself, an area that’s normally out of bounds on standard Colosseum tours. As you learn the stadium’s history through tales of gladiators, wild beasts, and emperors, explore the first tier and visit a vantage point to gaze down at the Roman Forum. Continue your tour outside the amphitheater with a stroll to Palatine Hill and the Roman Forum. Learn about daily life in the days of Imperial Rome, and discover the history that harks back to the ruins’ glory days. Your tour ends after the Roman Forum visit. NOTE: There is a new rule at the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill that only small backpacks and regular-size handbags are allowed inside. Guests with larger bags are not allowed to enter (there are no storage facilities) and all guests must now pass through a security check before entering the Colosseum.
Need help booking?
Call the number below and use the product code: 15693P36
Call +852 30184991
Important information
Inclusions
Skip the line access at the Roman Forum & Palatine Hill • Expert licensed tour guides • Headsets for every guest • Groups of 19 people or fewer • No-wait entrance to the Colosseum via the Gladiator’s Gate • Entry/Admission - Palatine Hill • Entry/Admission - Colosseum • Entry/Admission - Roman Forum • Guaranteed to skip the lines
Exclusions
Gratuities • Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
Duration
2h 30m
Departure details
Via delle Terme di Tito, 73, 00184 Roma RM, Italy Meet your guide at the entrance of Colle Oppio Park on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. The entrance is opposite Oppio caffè. Colle Oppio Park is located on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. If arriving by metro, please note that there are two entrances/exits for the metro. The caffè where we meet is located on the street above the metro station. You can take the stairs up either inside the metro station or from outside. Once you arrive to the street above the metro, face the colosseum and then walk to your left 150 meters and you will find the Oppio Caffè on the corner and the entrance on the opposite side.
Foro Romano, 00186 Roma RM, Italy Colosseum/Roman Forum
Inclusions
Skip the line access at the Roman Forum & Palatine Hill • Expert licensed tour guides • Headsets for every guest • Groups of 19 people or fewer • No-wait entrance to the Colosseum via the Gladiator’s Gate • Entry/Admission - Palatine Hill • Entry/Admission - Colosseum • Entry/Admission - Roman Forum • Guaranteed to skip the lines
Exclusions
Gratuities • Hotel Pick-Up/Drop-Off
Departure details
Via delle Terme di Tito, 73, 00184 Roma RM, Italy Meet your guide at the entrance of Colle Oppio Park on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. The entrance is opposite Oppio caffè. Colle Oppio Park is located on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. If arriving by metro, please note that there are two entrances/exits for the metro. The caffè where we meet is located on the street above the metro station. You can take the stairs up either inside the metro station or from outside. Once you arrive to the street above the metro, face the colosseum and then walk to your left 150 meters and you will find the Oppio Caffè on the corner and the entrance on the opposite side.
Foro Romano, 00186 Roma RM, Italy Colosseum/Roman Forum
Duration
2h 30m
Return details
Foro Romano, 00186 Roma RM, Italy Colosseum/Roman Forum
Additional information
Confirmation will be received at time of booking
Important Note: Due to Covid19, until the end of 2020, this tour will be amended to ensure your safety: - Group size and tour duration may be reduced. This will be amended as as Covid restrictions relax in accordance with local regulations.
Not wheelchair accessible
Near public transportation
Important Note: There is a new rule at the Colosseum, Roman Forum and Palatine Hill that only small backpacks and regular-size handbags are allowed inside. Guests with larger bags will not be allowed to enter (there are no storage facilities) and all guests must now pass through a security check before entering the Colosseum.
Please ensure that all members of your party have a valid ID on them on the day of the visit.
Unfortunately we are unable to accommodate guests with strollers on this tour.
Please note, this tour is wheelchair accessible with some difficulties. We advise clients to contact Walks Customer Service Team to make further arrangements.
Comfortable shoes are reccomended
Most travellers can participate
This tour/activity will have a maximum of 19 travellers
Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    Via delle Terme di Tito, 73
    Via delle Terme di Tito, 73, 00184 Roma RM, Italy
    Meet your guide at the entrance of Colle Oppio Park on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. The entrance is opposite Oppio caffè. Colle Oppio Park is located on the corner of Via di Terme di Tito and Via Nicola Salvi. If arriving by metro, please note that there are two entrances/exits for the metro. The caffè where we meet is located on the street above the metro station. You can take the stairs up either inside the metro station or from outside. Once you arrive to the street above the metro, face the colosseum and then walk to your left 150 meters and you will find the Oppio Caffè on the corner and the entrance on the opposite side.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Palatine Hill
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 2
    Colosseum
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
  • 3
    Roman Forum
    Stop: 60 minutes - Admission included
    See details
    Pass by
    Arco di Costantino
  • You'll end at
    Foro Romano
    Foro Romano, 00186 Roma RM, Italy
    Colosseum/Roman Forum
    See address & details
+
Popular mentions

5.0
631 reviews
Excellent
550
Very good
46
Average
17
Poor
6
Terrible
12

Christian O
4 contributions
Great Tour
Sep 2020
The guide was helpful and informative. He was interesting and made the tour fun and engaging. I would definitely recommend it.
Written 10 September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

LMR22
West Yorkshire, UK48 contributions
A must when in Rome
Aug 2020 • Family
Fantastic tour my family went on today. Our guide was amazing. Friendly, knowledgeable and an absolute pleasure. Glad we booked and would recommend to anyone.
Written 25 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Skye
Chelmsford, UK2 contributions
highly recommended
Aug 2020 • Couples
The tour was amazing, the tour guide spoke perfect English and was extremely knowledgeable told us many things we didn't know. It was really nice to take a step in to history :)
Written 23 August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Dear skyesurry85, Thank you for your lovely review! I am so glad you had a lovely time with our guide. All the best, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Diane
1 contribution
Do not use this company
Jun 2020
I had to cancel my tour due to Covid-19. It took me 3 MONTHS to get my refund! They would not answer the phone nor emails. I finally had to get my credit card company to help me get my "guaranteed" refund. This is a very unbusiness-like business!
Written 10 July 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Dear wvunot, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are sorry to learn about your negative experience thus far. We take customer reviews seriously and we always seek to find effective solutions. That is why we kindly ask that you reach out to us at info@takewalks.com referencing your TripAdvisor username, and we will ensure your case is resolved promptly. Warmest regards, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

kgilbert78
Columbus, OH2,460 contributions
Highlight of Our Trip
Jul 2019
May have been the best part of our trip to Italy. Mauro was a knowledgeable guide (he's written a good book about the Colosseum, which we purchased when we got home). He had good explanations, good stories, and had a picture guide with him that helped us see what things were like when this area was new. Highly recommended. The sites here are just too large to see and interpret without a guide. My only caveat is that I wish we had about 10-15 min more in the forum (tour also covered the Palatine Hill and Forum), but the area is so crowded, that our guide did the best he could.
Written 27 June 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Hello kgilbert78, Thank you for your glowing review. Learning that our tour may have been the best part of your trip is truly heartwarming and makes us all the more proud of the work that we do. We will be sure forward your review to Mauro as it will certainly make his day just as it did ours. We hope that you will get the opportunity to share another walk with us soon! Warmest regards, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

BettyMartha31
Kernersville, NC6 contributions
No refund after 2 months
May 2020
Cancelled two tours booked with this company due to CO19. Asked me if I wanted a credit. I said no. Asked me again. My answer didn't change. Two months later and I still don't have my refund of almost $700. They've quit responding to my emails requesting an update. Concerned they went out of business and I'll not get my refund. If I ever do and rebook an Italy trip, we will look for other vendors for our excursions.

I understand the unusual circumstances - I opened and am managing a CO19 testing clinic in the US. But I am not getting the impression they are working hard to issue refunds.
Written 22 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Dear BettyMartha31, We would like to express our apologies for the delay in your refund request being processed. As you can imagine Covid19 has had a tremendous effect on the travel industry as a whole, and for Walks, this has meant a reduction in our team. Unfortunately, as a ripple effect, this has meant that our processing times have been longer than we would like, but our team is working around the clock to resolve this. To reduce the workload we have sent out incentive plans to our guests, however, we understand that this may not be to the choosing of some, and in those cases, we are indeed working towards processing these requests. Customer satisfaction is our number one priority above and we seek to come to a satisfactory resolution for your case and kindly ask you reach out to our feedback team at info@takewalks.com to ensure that your issue is resolved promptly. Warmest regards, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Giles Family
1 contribution
Good luck getting your money back if you cancel
May 2020
We booked this tour for our family of 5 back in 2019 for a trip to Italy in May 2020. Unfortunately, COVID caused the cancellation of our flights and cruise, and we were forced to cancel this tour. We read the cancellation policy which stated it was fully refundable, and so in March, I cancelled the tour and asked to be refunded. I was told I would have to wait up to 6 weeks, which I happily did. It has not been 9 weeks, and they keep avoiding my emails, their US customer service number just plays a recording and never answers, and the supervisor emails they promise to return in 3 days, never get answered.

Terrible customer service, and i would never trust them with no money again, because it's obviously non refundable.
Written 5 May 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Hello Y8959QIjackr, We are terribly sorry for the delay in your refund request. Unfortunately, with the ongoing COVID-19 crisis causing massive shifts in travel around the world, in virtually every one of our markets, many of our guests have had to cancel which has consequently resulted in a backlog, but please rest assured that your refund will be processed as per our cancellation policy. We work so hard to ensure our clients have the best possible experience and always strive to find a solution. If you're interested in discussing this matter further with our feedback team feel free to reach out at info@takewalks.com. All the best, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

happy birthday
Sydney, Australia5 contributions
Corona Drama
Mar 2020
we Booked this tour and on the morning of the tour we were informed that musuems and such were closed. We had the offer to cancel or take the revised tour, which we did. We walked around the colosseum then the tour guide took us through the city streets to a number of other sites. He made the best of the situation. He had an architectural background so it was a fasinating insight into the history and build of some amazing sights.
Written 22 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Hi bpop12, We are thrilled to learn that our guide was able to provide you with the excellent customer experience that we always strive to achieve despite the circumstances. We hope that you had a fantastic time in Rome and that you are keeping safe. We look forward to touring with you soon. Warmest regards, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

gilly r
Skokie, IL5 contributions
Wonderful Tour!
Feb 2020
I highly recommend the Gladiator Special Access Tour of the Colosseum and Forum. I have been on other walking tours of this nature, and this one was by far superior! Our guide Julia was absolutely delightful. So much interesting and fascinating information. Easy to book, excellent check in process, small group. You won’t be disappointed!
Written 12 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Dear gillyr_ 11, Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely review on our Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor. We are extremely happy to hear you found this walking tour to be far superior than any other service you booked, both thanks to our wonderful guide Julia as well as our easy check in process. We work extremely hard to deliver only the best possible services, and cannot express how happy it makes us to hear we have succeeded in making your time with us so special. Looking forward to walking again with you soon! Sincerely, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Passenger822077
2 contributions
Great walking tour. Lots of facts and anecdotal stuff to keep it amusing too.
Mar 2020 • Couples
Tour guide had exceptional knowledge and clearly loves what she does. Group was small enough to make it feel personal and the speed was just right for everyone, young and old.
Written 11 March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TakeWalksSF
Dear Passenger822077, Thank you for taking the time to share how great your experience on our Gladiator Gate was! We are extremely happy to hear you enjoyed the guide and small group size so much, and found it added a personal touch to the tour, as it means we have succeeded in our goal! We hope your time in Rome was lovely, and that we will have the chance to walk with you again soon! All our best, The Walks Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 616
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

By: Walks of Italy
davidtT2026ZZ
davidtT2026ZZ
00
Unable to travel due to pandemic
This is my second review on this issue, as I've sent "Walks" another email in regards to their "refund policy".This
Mimmysue
Mimmysue
00
Horrible service
Booked tours in Italy and cancelled months in advance. I should have been entitled to a refund but they kept my $$
Jim D
Jim D
00
Walks LLC does not honor its cancellation policy and lies...
After the review originally posted below, Walks responded asking me to contact them to resolve this issue. I email
Otonio
Otonio
00
They cancelled at 4 AM the morning of the tour, leaving us stranded.
Booked our "Rome in a Day" tour on Aug 31 2020, for a full day tour taking place on Sat Sept 5th 2020. We arose bri
bryanw342
bryanw342
00
Great experience at the Colosseum and Palatine Hill with our two children
Ilaria was our tour guide of the Colosseum and Palatine Hill. Despite the rainy weather, our family had a tremendou
OliverR007
OliverR007
00
Essential tour for deep appreciation of the Colosseum and Roman Forum
Francesca was a wonderful guide. She is extremely knowledgeable and brought the ancient Roman history at our feet t
JCS3636
JCS3636
00
Terrible
DO NOT give this company your money. They DO NOT honor their own refund policy (72 hrs prior to walk) I purchased 4
hellenicstorm
hellenicstorm
00
Great experience
We had an excellent tour of the Roman Forum, Colosseum floor and Colosseum with Andrea today. Andrea was very know
EVAN5757
EVAN5757
00
Awful Company! No reimbursement even though website cleary states 100% reimbursement
Awful company. Will not give you money back. Do not book with them. They have been a problem for everyone who cance
williamwG2911PS
williamwG2911PS
00
Forced to pay in advance and hoodwinked by the fine print which contradicted the terms listed on the payment page
I feel compelled to warn others who may be considering using Walks Tours to be wary of any bookings. My experience
melbournebask
melbournebask
00
4 x tours of Rome
I have to say, without a doubt, we were privileged to have the most awesome guides on all our tours - the colosseum
karenskovvang
karenskovvang
00
Superp guide and tour of St. Perters Bacillica and Clip the Dome
So good and interesting. The guide Giovanna Di Furia was so passionate and knowledgeable. So much information, try
L5793UGjamiec
L5793UGjamiec
00
DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM!
I have been trying to cancel my tours for 3 months now. I originally sent my request back in June. I received an em
Mas1234
Mas1234
00
St Peters Basilica
We were in a small group visiting St Peters Basilica. Our guide, Julietta, was knowledgeable, passionate, entertain
karladC3593JA
karladC3593JA
00
Refund was received when we were unable to go!
We were unable to take this tour due to Covid-19 restrictions but very Happy we were given a full refund. Glad to
Frequently Asked Questions about Gladiator Gate and Arena Floor Special Access Colosseum Tour