We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide

Select Date and Travellers
From
US$34.01
Date
2 travellers
Options
Highlights
    What to Expect
    Itinerary
    This is a typical itinerary for this product

    Pass By: Pompeii - Archaeological Area., Porta Marina Superiore (Via Villa dei Misteri) Piazza Immacolata, Piazza Porta Marina inf., 80045 Pompeii Italy

    Take the chance to visit in only 2 hours the ruins of the Roman city of Pompeii, the vast archaeological area under the UNESCO patronage.

    Pass By: Forum, Pompeii Italy

    The Forum was the centre of Pompeii when it was first founded and even after the city's enlargement, when it could hardly be called 'central', it remained the focus of political, economic and religious life.

    Pass By: Stabian Baths (Terme Stabiane), Pompeii Italy

    The Stabian Baths take their name from the fact that they lie at the intersection of the Via Stabiana and the Via dell'Abbondanza. They are the oldest baths in Pompeii and four different building phases can be identified.

    Pass By: Temple of Jupiter, Pompeii Italy

    The Temple of Jupiter, dedicated to the Capitoline triad of Jupiter, Juno and Minerva, dominates the north side of the Forum.

    Pass By: Macellum, Via Villa Dei Misteri Regio VII, Building 12, 80045 Pompeii Italy

    The Macellum, or food market, stands in the north-east corner of the Forum. The complex, built in the imperial age as a covered market, had a large number of shops on its periphery on the Via degli Augustali and on the Forum as well as on the inside under a colonnade around its large internal court.
    Show More
    Important Information
    Departure Point
    Traveler pickup is offered
    24 hours after the booking you will receive an email with the pickup time and the meeting instructions

    Ports
    Molo Beverello, Porto di Napoli
    Duration
    4h
    Return Details
    Returns to original departure point
    Inclusions
    • Live commentary on board
    • Professional guide
    • Hotel/port pick-up and drop-off
    • Round-trip shared transfer
    • Bottled water
    Exclusions
    • Food and drinks
    • Gratuities
    • Pompeii entrance fee € 15 per person
    Show More
    Additional Info
    • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
    • Children must be accompanied by an adult
    • At time of booking, Cruise ship passengers must provide the following information at time of booking: ship name, docking time, disembarkation time and re-boarding time
    • A minimum of 2 people per booking is required
    • Transport is wheelchair accessible; however, be prepared for uneven surfaces at the sites visited which may be difficult for those with walking disabilities or using a wheelchair
    • During the low season from November to to March, the live guide inside Pompeii will be replaced by an official interactive audioguide for groups of less than six.
    • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
    Cancellation Policy
    For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.
    16Reviews4Q&A
    Traveller rating
    • 7
    • 0
    • 2
    • 1
    • 4
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language
    • Filter
    • English
    Popular mentions
    According to the website upon booking we would’ve had ear pieces to hear the guide. This did not happen. There was no communication on the bus and the tour operator did not point out any sites on the bus. Another guest asked about ear pieces and the guide said “the group size is
    Read more
    Thanks to Tony Belardo and the team of drivers who helped us from the airport to Pompei to Amalfi and Rome with perfect timing and professionalism. We were a group of eight arriving at different times, dealing with changing flights and struggling with lost luggage, but Tony was
    Read more
    Great tour guide Francesca, very patient, polite and an encyclopaedia of information. Would highly recommend this tour company and Francesca.
    Read more
    Whatever you do, do NOT go on this tour. It is an absolute waste of money! First off, they were late picking us up, then they had us waiting in the souvenir shop/restaurant area for about 30 minutes before we got into Pompeii. The tour guide they provided could barely speak
    Read more
    Response from Worldtours21, Staff at Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
    Responded 29 Aug 2018
    Dear Bren, My name is Mafalda and I work in the WT staff. I am writing to reply to your review, saying first of all that we were very sorry that you did not appreciate the ruins of Pompeii and that you did not like our tour, one of the best sellers along with that of the Amalfi Coast. The first thing that catches my eye when I'm reading the review is not only that you did not like the tour but that something important happened that annoyed you. - Regarding the delays if there were any, they certainly do not depend on the company but on our customers, they are on holiday! Is a group tour and we go to take all the customers in the hotels and if someone leaves late, we wait for him but obviously we will be late for the next pick up. - Our guides are all qualified and qualified by the Italian Government, it is unthinkable that a guide does not speak English but what I can think is that perhaps there were many people in the excavations and then maybe you could not listen well to the guide but it would have been enough to get closer to understand better the history of Pompeii. - talking about the elderly couple who lost themselves in the excavations I can say Welcome to Pompeii, it is very famous to get lost in the ruins and you are always looking for someone or because they are elderly or because they are adventurers, but I repeat, it's a group tour and at that moment we are like a family, if someone gets lost the guide looks for him and the rest of the group has some time to take pictures. - Is the guide useless? I assure you that the guide in the excavations of Pompeii is not useless. I will repeat it to infinity, Pompeii is a whole city 64 to 67 ha. (170 acres) (660,000 square meters), wandering the ruins alone without an itinerary is not advisable, with a guide you can see the main things, the most important, the most significant. - After leaving the excavations we always give free time, customers are asking for it (you can imagine that time is money for a company would be better to return and end the tour) But our guests want to buy souvenirs, books, and especially go to the bathroom or take a bottle of water, eat something. Meanwhile, the guide calls the bus to get it in front of the ruins, because the parking areas you see in front of the excavations are not parking areas, are only for pick up and dropp off, means that we can only leave customers and go to resume them. Would you imagine a parking area right outside the ruins? This year the site had 3.4 million visitors, August 450,000 per day, you can not have buses and cars out of the ruins for this the bus must be called to come and pick you up. But this point is only for the benefit of our agency because many other agencies make their customers walk under the sun to reach the parking areas, we give free time and we come to pick you up under the excavations not a meter more. And with this I reconnect to the other point - free time can be spent as you wish but we also show you one of the historical shops of the site where you can make some free tasting of limoncello and liqueurs, enter and go out easy. Even the demonstration of the carving of the cameo and the processing of coral what she called stupid trinkets is one of the oldest working traditions of our region known all over the world and absolutely in line with the Pompeian culture. The live demonstration of these carvings is something really precious to see but is not forced to observe it at all. They are ideas (limoncello or coral) for the free time you have after visiting the ruins, nothing more. - you can choose to arrive in Pompeii with a private tour, with a taxi (they are quite expensive) or as you suggest you can take the red bus but clearly would not have the guide included (120.00 euros institutional fee for the guide only), would not have the skip the line to enter the excavations (she mentions having paid the ticket for entry, which is normal in my opinion) but the guide did give the ticket upon arrival in the excavations, you did not have to put in row and I remember 450,000 visitors a day, maybe get in line for an hour or more and wait to buy the ticket, that would have been a waste of time. I am still sorry that you did not take full advantage of the Pompeii site. We are always available for further clarification.
    Read more
    The bus was almost 30 minutes late to our departure site. Once we arrived, we waited for 30-40 minutes for two minors to get their tickets. Our guide, Lara, was very knowledgeable and pleasant. However, the trip was very short and we did not feel that we saw everything we
    Read more
    Response from Worldtours21, Staff Worldtours at Daily Pompeii Group Tour with Archaeological Guide
    Responded 10 Nov 2018
    Hello, thanks for your review, I do not know why you said the bus was late because we are always on time maybe you had to wait other guests that they going out of the hotels but this is somethig different because in a tour group you suppose to wait a little bit the others. Also when a guide buy tickets for children has always the skip the line so is really strange wait for 30-40 minutes. Anyway I hope you enjoyed Pompei with our guide Laura. Worldtours staff.
    Read more
    Previous
    Key Details
    Why Book on TripAdvisor?
    • Free Cancellation up to 24 hours in advance
    • Low Price Guarantee
    • No Booking Fees
    • Secure Payments
    • 24/7 SupportCall: +852 30184991