Tours and Tickets
Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh
4.5
LIKELY TO SELL OUT*

Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh

By Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours
from
HK$545.22
per adult
from
HK$545.22
per adult

Lowest price guaranteeReserve now & pay laterFree cancellation

Ages 4-99, max of 53 per group
Duration:
12h 15m
Start time: Check availability
Ticket type:
Mobile
English


  • Air-conditioned vehicle
  • All Fees and Taxes
What's not included
  • Food & Drinks
  • Attraction Tickets
  • Gratuities


Departure details
  • 521 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK We depart outside the Ensign Ewart Pub.
Return details
  • Returns to original departure point

  • Service animals allowed
  • Near public transportation
  • Not wheelchair accessible
If you have questions about accessibility, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6898P46

  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Minimum age is 4 years old
  • Minimum numbers apply. There is a possibility of cancellation after confirmation if there are not enough passengers to meet requirements. In the event of this occurring, you will be offered an alternative or a full refund.
  • Collapsible wheelchairs with removable wheels can be accommodated providing the passenger is accompanied by someone who can assist them board and disembark the bus.
  • Operates in all weather conditions, please dress appropriately.
  • Please arrive a minimum of 15 minutes before your tour's departure time.
  • Most travellers can participate
  • Digital translations in English, German, French, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish, Russian & Mandarin available on request.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travellers. If it’s cancelled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 53 travellers

  • For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience.

Which attractions will I visit with Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh?
How much is Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh?
Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh price starts from HK$405.48. Discover and book Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
What is the Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh cancellation policy?
Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh cancellation policy: For a full refund, cancel at least 24 hours in advance of the start date of the experience. Discover and book Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor
Which company provides Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh?
Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh is hosted by Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours. Read reviews, discover additonal experiences or contact Timberbush Tours Edinburgh - Day Tours on Tripadvisor. Discover and book Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh on Tripadvisor

If you have questions about this tour or need help making your booking, we’d be happy to help. Just call the number below and reference the product code: 6898P46

Itinerary
  • You'll start at
    521 Lawnmarket
    521 Lawnmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2PE, UK
    We depart outside the Ensign Ewart Pub.
    See address & details
  • 1
    Callander
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
  • 2
    Glencoe
    Stop: 10 minutes
    See details
  • 3
    Fort William
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
    Pass by
    Neptune's Staircase
  • 4
    Road to the Isles
    See details
  • 5
    Mallaig
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 6
    Glenfinnan Viaduct
    Stop: 60 minutes
    See details
  • 7
    Pitlochry
    Stop: 30 minutes
    See details
  • You'll return to the starting point
+
About the operator

Don’t take it from us – here’s what people have to say about this operator.

katiedG5566KZ
katiedG5566KZ
00
Loch Lomond, Stirling Castle, and the Kelpies Tour from Edinburgh
Martin was a fantastic Tour Guide (Driver). He was funny, knowledgeable, and professional. The tour itself was fant
N5034YKerikt
N5034YKerikt
00
You’re being driven around to drink, what more could you want
Stuart was great keeping us entertained, the distilleries and scenery were very cool, felt like we had enough time
bethgN9426BN
bethgN9426BN
00
Great day for some whiskey and sunshine
Stewart was a wonderful host, he connected with everyone on the tour and filled us up with more history on Scotland
Siansmithy
Siansmithy
00
BRILLIANT
KENNY!! what a friendly, funny and all around brilliant guy! When a 12 hour day only feels like 4 - only when you’r
davelong55
davelong55
00
Highlands
This was a great trip. It’s a long day, but the scenery is gorgeous. Our guide, Paul, was entertaining and knowledg
701pjh
701pjh
00
A beautiful tour and Martin was an amazing tour guide.
This tour was fantastic; Martin and James were great! We were hoping to get a very scenic tour of the the Lowlands
Rita W
Rita W
00
Beautiful
The countryside speaks for itself and we loved driving through it. Our driver/guide was great, fun and informative.
CUTLGTN
CUTLGTN
00
Highlands Delight
This was a wonderful tour. Jim, our driver and guide, made it fun and informative. Of course, the scenery was stu
mustafaaQ2175MX
mustafaaQ2175MX
00
must do tour
Excellent ! the guide is perfect, very well organized and knows alot of history and stuff, the views are really won
Carla C
Carla C
00
Highlands and Eileen Donan
Stewart was quite possibly the nicest guide I’ve ever had! Our one tour was cancelled because of the Queens funera
cherylmR5551YU
cherylmR5551YU
00
Brilliant experience
Brian was an excellent guide! He was very knowledgeable, funny (or should I say punny?), and nice. Enjoyed feeding
jaimevK2464KW
jaimevK2464KW
00
Great whiskey tour in the highlands!
Amazing tours of Aberfeldy and Glenturret distilleries. Our driver, Roy, was very friendly and knowledgeable. Even
Alessa M
Alessa M
00
A great highlands tour!
I had a great experience in the Highlands! The landscape is absolutely GORGEOUS you have to see it to believe it. I
Rita R
Rita R
00
Fun and informative
Marty our driver was a gem. His sense of humour and the information he shared made this tour a real treat! Beautifu
Freedom01450856393
Freedom01450856393
00
Outstanding Customer Care
This is an unusual 5 star review, we travelled from Inverness last Friday, our first stop after feeding the hairy c
Detailed Reviews: Reviews order informed by descriptiveness of user-identified themes such as cleanliness, atmosphere, general tips and location information.
Popular mentions

4.5
86 reviews
Excellent
66
Very good
9
Average
4
Poor
6
Terrible
1

Carole
4 contributions
The beginning itinerary of this trip duplicates the trip to Loch Ness, which we took the day before. However, we had better weather on the day this trip took place and I was able to take far more beautiful photos of the Glen Coe Valley and got a much better photo of the Kelpies. Up through Glen Coe, the trips were pretty similar with different rest stops. After that, it was all new territory. My goal was to see as much of the Highlands as I could since my ancestors came from there. I was not disappointed. Our driver/guide, Alan, was excellent and his stories were interesting and welcome. He also played Scottish music while we enjoyed the passing scenery -- a nice blend of experiences.

We had time to eat a delicious meal in Mallaig, saw a rainbow, and seals swimming. The train was at the station and we later saw it as it traveled along the Glenfinnan Viaduct of Harry Potter fame. On the return trip, we made a short stop at the town of Pitlochry that Queen Victoria made popular. Nice photo opportunity and ice cream stop.

It was a long trip, but in my view worth it.
Written 21 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review. Our Glenfinnan tour is a long trip, but as you've said, thanks to all the amazing scenery, it's definitely worth it. I'm glad that you were able to follow in your ancestors footsteps and had such a great time with Alan as your guide. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, David
Written 22 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sanni
Tartu, Estonia62 contributions
It was early, the bus was big and full, the guide was not a native Scot, and I had already done a wonderful small group tour with a local guide, so I was very skeptical. I thought that this would definitely be the worse tour. But I was wrong! Paul and Paul were a cracking team. Guide Paul (with the non-scottish accent but a scottish soul) was wonderful. He lifted us all up from our morning snoozies, made everyone feel included and made everyone laugh A LOT. He pointed out several Harry Potter locations while also sharing local history, and went all out with his funny singing and voice impressions. Everything went smoothly and we saw the hogwarts express cross the glenfinnan viaduct as planned. Driver paul handled the bus excellently while also revealing himself as an honourable potterhead, filling in some blanks for guide Paul. The day was long but the atmosphere was friendly and happy, and I made friends who I made plans with for later days of my trip. In the end guide Paul gave a very heartfelt thank you to us and almost shed some happy tears. It was wonderful to see this highland cow of a man being so committed to giving us the experience of a life-time. Big recommend!
Written 15 June 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review! I think after that tour you'll agree you don't have to have a Scottish accent to be Scottish at heart and still give a brilliant experience! I'm so glad you had a brilliant time on tour with the two Pauls and that this was the better tour - I always like to hear that! It sounds like you had a really wonderful time full of stories, laughs and history. Hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Written 22 June 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Hannah
1 contribution
Family
I highly recommend the Glenfinnan, Mallaig & Glencoe adventure! It was an awesome tour and we will surely come again! Honestly I didn’t believe that such a long bus ride could be that entertaining - it never got boring. Our driver John H. and our guide Paul E. were fantastic! Thank you for the laugh, pleasant atmosphere and interesting knowledge on many different subjects (and especially for the musical insert of Frozen!) Paul was truly the best tour guides I've ever had! He was professional, enthusiastic, funny and truly passionate about Scotland. He played suitable scotish music during the tour and told humorous anecdotes and jokes. John made fitting breaks for a little movement, photography and sightseeing in the region! It was truly a great experience on our trip and would definitely recommend!
#BesttourguideinScotland
Written 4 July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review! It's great to hear that even on one of our longer tours like Glenfinnan, John and Paul made sure it was entertaining the whole way and that it was full of knowledge, anecdotes and music. I hope you got some fab photos as it's beautiful up there, and hopefully we will see you again some day soon! All the best, David
Written 5 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Bray F
1 contribution
Couples
Please for the love of god stop at the places for longer. There is no reason to drive an extra hour to mallaig to only stay there for thirty minutes! You can’t even sit down for lunch! And then you backtrack all the way to the whole point of the tour which is the Harry Potter train. Also we didn’t even get enough time at our breakfast stop to get food, since this and four other tours dropped off 150 people at the same tiny cafe. The cherry on the cake is when we stopped for 10 minutes at a random dam instead of spending that ten minutes on one of the nice towns where that time could’ve been used! The tour guide was good but this trip is flawed because of the itinerary, it is stretched way too thin for time. Remove the mallaig stop and save the time for another town and it would be way better!
Written 20 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you felt like the time could have been better managed on your tour. As this is a tour that has to arrive at Glenfinnan for a certain time to see the train, we have to be very careful with timings, we also don't want to be out for too long as that would be too tiring for both you and our guides. As for the food situation, we do always advise to bring a packed lunch or snacks, especially as now during the busier seasons the stops can get very busy and we can't guarantee you'll be able to get food at the stops. We will however take on your feedback, and I'm glad that you enjoyed the guide that you had and do hope you still got to appreciate the beautiful highland scenery. All the best, David
Written 22 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Yusuf
Cesme, Turkey2 contributions
We have attended a 1-day Glencoe Mallaig Glenfinnan highland tour that promotes visiting the famous Glenfinnan Viaduct that the Jacobite train passes by. At first, everything was good, the vehicle, driver, and the guide is cool. But the tour itself is problematic. We could only see most of the places by the bus window passing by. Breaks were too short that we had to decide between using the restroom and seeing the good place we stopped. I was still ok if we get to take pictures of the famous bridge and the train on it. When we stopped there our guide said you had 15 min to catch the train and another 15 min to go back to the bus. In total, we had approximately 30-40 min to walk to the bridge take pictures and return. Of course, it was impossible and everyone decided to see the train from a higher point than where we parked the bus. We waited there for almost an hour and there was no train. The view was nothing to mention. Just the wrong angle of the bridge with a long distance. Our guide did not pick us up even if we are late. If he gave us the hour we already waited, everyone would go to the hills with a better view so we can at least see the viaduct fully and close by. Rain and freezing cold started and we had to go back to the bus where we get a simple apology. Everyone was disappointed. There were even kids with all the Hogwarts and Harry Potter staff. We only get to see some of the scenes from the window of the bus. I personally could not see the lake and monument at the same location while waiting for the train. For a 12 hours tour having only 2 hours of free time was problematic. We had all the rush to eat and use the restroom and could not see the actual nature by walking. The bus view was really good but not enough. In total it was not what we paid for. 12 hours of bus journey and Scottish history stories it should be.
Written 16 May 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with our Glencoe tour. As a tour that has to cover such a large distance in just one day, we try to ensure that the stops are well timed and that there are enough of them - I'm sorry to hear that for you this wasn't the case. As we time our tour to link up with the train, there is always the chance that the train might be experiencing delays, or there was traffic on our end, and we don't quite make the train which is of course really disappointing. I hope you were still able to enjoy some of the beautiful scenery up there but I'm sorry that you were disappointed with the rest of the tour. All the best, David
Written 12 July 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Sarah G
Preston, UK8 contributions
Friends
I appreciate the driver, and Paul for making the trip joyful - the reason I rated this 4 stars and not 3. But, unfortunately, this trip was not for me.

If you enjoy sitting on the bus for 9hours, driving and stopping by from town to town with only 30min window to explore shops, cafes and tea rooms, then I would recommend this to you.

Unfortunately, I thought this trip was going to be more about stopping by beautiful sceneries, enjoying the sight of the mountains at the highlands and maybe even hike for a bit? I would’ve loved it if that’s what we did, as this is my personal taste for a good tour. However, I understand we travelled far and that wouldn’t have been possible - the reason we were only able to enjoy the beautiful scenery whilst driving.

Either way, I’m thankful for the trip & I hope the trips only get better. Thank you so much Paul for making my mum and sister laugh - they both had a really good time; and they both had enjoyed the trip and said they would do it again.
Written 13 August 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review. I'm pleased to hear that you had a great driver and guide and that they made the tour a wee bit better, and that your mum and your sister both really enjoyed the tour. I'm sorry this one wasn't as much to your taste, but perhaps you would like one of our shorter tours like our Loch Lomond tour which have longer stops and often shorter drives between them. Hopefully we will see you on one of them some day! All the best, David
Written 16 August 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Traveler275552
3 contributions
Couples
Our guide, John Nester, was excellent in terms of driving and entertaining the guests. He drove very responsibly in the narrow, twisty trails, and he managed to introduce each region and tell us the history. Even the playlist was carefully selected, and there was introduction and comments about each Scottish song played. I learned a lot and enjoyed John’s sense of humor. It was like listening to a top quality radio host while in the bus.
We were lucky to see all the landscape on a sunny day, but be prepared for gloomy weather. Also, expect a long bus ride. If you prefer to stop freely along the way, renting a car is probably a better option.
Written 11 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Arthur Boon
1 contribution
It was Great! (insert Scottish accent),

For those who have limited time in Scotland and want to see the most possible, Go on this tour!

I'm not much of an advocate for tours as I usually prefer wandering around and finding things organically. However, this tour does a good job of taking you around and seeing a good portion of the highlands you would otherwise not be able to do in such a short time.

Andrew, our guide, was very informative and he is clearly passionate about what he does. I don't think I would have learned half of the facts he was telling us on my own. And for you photo mongers out there, be sure to ask him where is a good angle to get a picture on your next stop. He will have recommendations.

I did also make a quick calculation on the costing and it is very worth it. If you were to do this trip on your own, you would spend roughly double the cost on petrol and a car rental alone. Not to mention the time savings from not getting lost in the highlands as GPS would constantly drop due to lack of signal in some areas.

My only criticism would be the Mallaig portion of the trip which was lunchtime. I felt it didn't have much of a point apart from being a stop for the driver to have a very well-deserved rest. Bryan was a spectacular driver! he saved us from other idiot drivers quite a few times.

To conclude, if you limited time to see Scotland and the highlands, in particular, do this tour. It is a quintessential overview of what the highlands have to offer.
Written 5 April 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review! As someone who isn't normally an advocate for tours, it's really lovely that you would still recommend ours. It's great that you were able to learn so much from Andrew while he was at the wheel, all while taking in the beautiful scenery of the Highlands. We definitely think it's worth while when you factor in all the costs, so I'm glad you noticed this too! We will definitely take your feedback on board about the stop in Mallaig, but like you mentioned, it is really needed to give our driver-guides the rest they deserve, and it is very pretty which is always a bonus. Best wishes, David
Written 12 April 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

SiljaCISV
Frankfurt, Germany17 contributions
The tour was such an amazing experience and I am so glad I booked this one!
The start of the tour was at 7.15am in a really central and easily accessible place. We were a group of 12 and were greeted by Paul, our driver and tour guide for the day. And boy, did he do a fantastic job! Throughout the whole tour he told interesting stories and facts about the places we saw and visited along the way and coordinated the whole thing with songs. His passion was second to none!
The tour itself took us to several places in the Highlands, and we did have a few additional photo stops. Of course one of the highlights was the Glenfinnan Viaduct. Pro tip: if you go to the designated view point, you get an amazing view of the River Finnan as well. But if you head along the way to the other side of the viaduct, you will get the iconic Harry Potter shot. Thus, the goal would be to do both, which would comfortably probably take around 20 minutes. We got there with 45 minutes to spare, so it was easily doable.
We got back to Edinburgh around 8pm.

The mini bus was super modern with USB charging points at every seat and very comfortable.

All in all I can’t recommend this tour, Paul and Timberbush Tours enough! Do it, you won’t regret it!
Written 11 September 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Timberbush T
Thank you for your review, SiljaCISV! It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed exploring Glenfinnan and Mallaig with us! I hope you got some great photos of your time on tour! I'll pass on your kind words to Paul - he'll be delighted! Best wishes, Amy
Written 13 September 2021
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Nivedita
6 contributions
Excellent day trip with Fraser and John. This was a 12 hour long trip with multiple stops spaced very well throughout the trip. We got many refreshment breaks and photo stops as well. The bus travels through the beautiful and breathtaking Scottish Highlands and Fraser made sure to share the stories, myths and legends behind every location that we passed. He also played beautiful Scottish music throughout the entire trip. We also passed may famous filming locations and Fraser was kind enough to point us in the right direction and share the story behind each such filming location. There was also a surprise bonus stop on the way. At the end of the day, we were all left wanting some more :)
Written 21 September 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
David B
Hi there, thank you for your review. Our Glenfinnan tour is a longer one, but we like to ensure that there are plenty of stops and photo opportunities along the way, so I'm glad that this was the case and that you had a brilliant time with Fraser and John. Hopefully we will see you again soon! All the best, David
Written 22 September 2022
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.

Showing results 1-10 of 75
*Likely to sell out: Based on Viator’s booking data and information from the provider from the past 30 days, it seems likely this experience will sell out through Viator, a Tripadvisor company.

Glenfinnan, Glencoe and Mallaig Full-Day Tour from Edinburgh